Main Menu

Quick Links

International Awards & Accolades for Graduate


Participation in major conferences

The Heidelberg Laureate Forum is the result of a joint initiative of the Heidelberg Institute for Theoretical Studies and the Klaus Tschira Stiftung, and is a one-week event combining scientific, social and outreach activities. The winners of the most prestigious awards in Mathematics and Computer Science, the Abel Prize, the Fields Medal (including the Nevanlinna Prize for contributions in Mathematical Aspects of Information Science), and the ACM Turing Award are invited to participate in the Forum. Each year the Scientific Committee of the Heidelberg Laureate Forum Foundation decides on a topical focus for the upcoming forum. Once the focus has been defined, applications from young scientists for participation in the forum are solicited. About 200 highly talented young researchers will participate in the forum each year.

Our graduate students have been selected to participate in this Forum:

ZHAO Quan (PhD student, 2013 cohort) 5th Heidelberg Laureate Forum 2017
WANG Liuquan (PhD student, 2014 cohort) 4th Heidelberg Laureate Forum 2016

EASIAM Student Paper Prize

The EASIAM (East Asia section of SIAM) Student Paper Prizes are awarded every year to the student author(s) of the most outstanding paper(s) submitted to the EASIAM Student Paper Prize competition. This prize is solely based on the merit and content of the student's contribution to the submitted paper. The purpose of the Student Paper Prizes is to recognize outstanding scholarship by students in applied mathematics or scientific computing. Each recipient of the EASIAM Student Paper Prize shall receive a framed certificate and a cash prize of US$300. Up to three awards will be bestowed.

TANG Qinglin, PhD (2013)2014 (2nd prize)
DONG Xuanchun, PhD (2012)2012 (1st prize)
CAI Yong Yong, PhD (2012)2011 (1st prize)
Alexander SHAPEEV, PhD (2009)2007 (3rd prize,shared)