Main Menu

Quick Links

International Awards & Accolades for Undergraduate


Participation in major conferences

The Heidelberg Laureate Forum is the result of a joint initiative of the Heidelberg Institute for Theoretical Studies and the Klaus Tschira Stiftung, and is a one-week event combining scientific, social and outreach activities. The winners of the most prestigious awards in Mathematics and Computer Science, the Abel Prize, the Fields Medal (including the Nevanlinna Prize for contributions in Mathematical Aspects of Information Science), and the ACM Turing Award are invited to participate in the Forum. Each year the Scientific Committee of the Heidelberg Laureate Forum Foundation decides on a topical focus for the upcoming forum. Once the focus has been defined, applications from young scientists for participation in the forum are solicited. About 200 highly talented young researchers will participate in the forum each year.

Our undergraduate students (and graduate students) have been selected to participate in this Forum:

Ang Yan Sheng (2015 cohort) 5th Heidelberg Laureate Forum 2017



Simon Marais Mathematics Competition 

2019 Individual prize: 4th place - Yap Jit Wu
  Pairs prize: 7th place - Lim Li and Ling Yan Hao
  And for the first time, NUS qualified for the University Prize and won the first place. Well done to Team NUS.
2018 Individual prize: 1st place - Ang Yan Sheng and 8th place (joint) - Way Tan
  Pairs prize: 1st place - Lim Li and Ling Yan Hao
3rd place - Bay Wei Heng and Cho Ming En
2017 Individual prize: 1st place: Ang Yan Sheng, 2nd place: Yap Jit Wu
  Pairs prize: 1st place: How Si Wei and Li Yao’an  (also recipient of the Hofflin Prize, awarded for most creative solution to any problem)


A team of 3 students (Wang Haina, Xiang Shang, Zhang Jingwei) participated in the 2017 Interdisciplinary Contest in Modeling and won the Meritorious prize for problem D (given to the best 10% of participating teams).

Khor Shi-jie won the 20th APBF Youth Team Championship in 2015 (jointly with Singaporean representative Peter Haw)