News Archive


23 May
Distinguished Professor GAN Wee Teck has been named as a fellow of the Singapore National Academy of Science (SNAS), among 10 individuals who have distinguished themselves in the field of science.
Read more
22 May
Dr WANG Fei has won the NUS Annual Teaching Excellence Award (ATEA) for the Academic Year 2016/2017. The award is given by the University to recognize faculty members who have demonstrated a very high level of commitment to, and achievement of, good teaching.
15 May

The Department of Mathematics congratulates Professor CHONG Chi Tat and Professor TOH Kim Chuan on being conferred the University Outstanding Service Award and the University Research Recognition Award respectively, at the University Awards Ceremony on 14 May. 

In a career spanning over four decades, Professor CHONG has made numerous major contributions in the areas of education, research and administration, both within NUS and beyond. His passion and dedication in research has also inspired generations of students and young staff in the Department of Mathematics.

Professor TOH is among the world’s leading figures in semidefinite programming. The University Research Recognition Award is a fitting recognition of his outstanding research in and fundamental contributions to the theory, practice and application of convex optimisation.

Read more

01 Apr
Provost Chair Professor TOH Kim Chuan has been selected as a SIAM Fellow (Class of 2018) for his contributions to the development of algorithms and software for semidefinite programming and, more generally, conic programming.
27 Mar
A/P Roger TAN Choon Ee will be appointed Associate Vice President at the Office of the President (UPR) from 1 April 2018. A/P Tan will head the Organisational Excellence Transformation Unit (OETU) within UPR.
05 Mar

Mathematics Adjunct Prof YU Chien Siang received the Hall of Fame Award in Singapore’s inaugural Cybersecurity Awards. Professor Yu developed Singapore’s first secure email system and PC security system and pioneered the implementation of public key systems for the Singapore Government.

Read more
13 Feb
Recent progress on the Gan-Gross-Prasad conjectures was the subject of a Bourbaki Seminar in January 2018 presented by Raphaël BEUZART-PLESSIS. The Séminaire Nicolas Bourbaki (Bourbaki Seminar) is a series of seminars (in fact public lectures with printed notes distributed) that has been held in Paris since 1948. It is one of the major institutions of contemporary mathematics, and a barometer of mathematical achievement, fashion, and reputation.

Read more
12 Jan
Congratulations to Dr Vincent TAN on his promotion to Associate Professor, with effect from 1 January 2018.

From the News Media

On Mathematics & its Applications