International Congress of Mathematicians (ICM)

The Department of Mathematics at the National University of Singapore (NUS) is proud to report that four of its faculty members have been invited to give a 45-minute address at the International Congress of Mathematicians (ICM) 2014 to be held in Seoul, South Korea.  

The International Congress of Mathematicians (ICM) is the largest international congress in the mathematics community.  Its long and illustrious history stretches over more than a century.  It is held once every four years under the auspices of the International Mathematical Union (IMU).  Four of the top prizes in mathematics: the Fields Medals, the Nevanlinna Prize, the Gauss Prize and the Chern Medal, are awarded during the opening ceremony on the first day of the congress.  With thousands of participants and the announcements of the prestigious prizes, every ICM is the focus of the mathematical world and a highlight on the mathematical calendar.

The selection process for invited speakers to ICM is extremely rigorous.  Nominations received worldwide are channeled to selection committees for individual sub-disciplines comprising of preeminent experts in the whole world.  In each sub-discipline, only a handful of mathematicians are invited to give 45-minute presentations.  To be an ICM invited speaker is to be recognised by one’s peers to be among the top experts in the sub-discipline in the whole world.  It is a singular honour that is widely acclaimed by the mathematical community as a mark of excellence.  With such stringent selection criteria, it is a significant recognition of the quality of a mathematics department to have multiple invited speakers at the same ICM.

All four invited professors have made significant contributions to their areas of expertise.

Professor Bao Weizhu works in computational and applied mathematics. Previously Professor Bao was awarded the 10th Feng Kang Prize for Scientific Computing by the Chinese Society of Computational Mathematics for his significant contributions in numerical methods and mathematical analysis for Bose-Einstein condensation and numerical analysis of the Schrödinger equation.

Professor Gan Wee Teck’s principal areas of research are representation theory and number theory, especially their interconnections as exemplified by the Langlands program.   Previously Professor Gan was awarded the American Mathematics Society Centennial Fellowship (2002-2003) and the Sloan Research Fellowship (2003-2005). 

Professor Shen Weixiao works in the area of dynamical systems.  Previously Professor Shen was awarded the S. S. Chern Prize by the Chinese Mathematical Society in 2009, for his outstanding contributions to one dimensional dynamics.

Professor Yu Shih-Hsien’s research focus is on quantitative and qualitative theories for conservation laws and the Boltzmann equation and is recognized as one of the world’s leading experts in the field. 

The invitations affirm their places as leading members of their research areas.  In the department’s history, Professor Shen Zuowei, (currently Dean of the Faculty of Science) was the first mathematician to be given this recognition when he was invited to present a 45-minute lecture at the previous ICM in 2010.   Having four invited ICM speakers in the same year puts the NUS Mathematics Department at the forefront of the mathematical community in the world and brings great recognition and honor to the department and the university.  This marks a new milestone in the history of NUS and the Department of Mathematics. 


Previous ICMs

The first International Congress of Mathematicians (ICM) was held in 1897. Since 1900, ICMs take place every four years.  Previous ICMs were held in:

  1. Zürich (1897)
  2. Paris (1900)
  3. Heidelberg (1904)
  4. Roma (1908)
  5. Cambridge, U.K. (1912)
  6. Strasbourg (1920)
  7. Toronto (1924)
  8. Bologna (1928)
  9. Zürich (1932)
  10. Oslo (1936)
  11. Cambridge, USA (1950)
  12. Amsterdam (1954)
  13. Edinburgh (1958)
  1. Stockholm (1962)
  2. Moskva (1966)
  3. Nice (1970)
  4. Vancouver (1974)
  5. Helsinki (1978)
  6. Warszawa (1982, held in 1983)
  7. Berkeley (1986)
  8. Kyoto (1990)
  9. Zürich (1994)
  10. Berlin (1998)
  11. Beijing (2002)
  12. Madrid (2006)
  13. Hyderabad, India (2010)
  • Skip Navigation Links